Strategic Partners

Home/About SJTP/Strategic Partners

The South Jersey Technology Park is a public/private partnership that has received support from numerous organizations, including the New Jersey Economic Development Authority ($5.8 million), the Delaware River and Bay Authority ($5 million), the New Jersey Commission on Science and Technology ($1.5 million), and the Rowan University Foundation ($1 million).

New Jersey Economic Development Authority

njedalogoThe New Jersey Economic Development Authority (EDA) is an independent, self-supporting State entity dedicated to broadening New Jersey’s economic base by building vibrant, diverse communities, creating and maintaining jobs, and providing businesses and nonprofits with the necessary financial and technical support to grow and succeed.

The EDA creates public/private partnerships to bridge financing gaps and to increase access to capital by the State’s business community with an emphasis on small and mid-size businesses and nonprofit organizations. It supports entrepreneurial development through training and mentoring programs. It undertakes real estate development projects important to the State’s economic growth that will create new jobs and business opportunities and support community development and revitalization.

Delaware River Bay Authority

drbasealThe Delaware River & Bay Authority (DRBA) was created in 1962. The Authority is charged with providing vital transportation links between the two states as well as economic development in Delaware and the four southern counties of New Jersey. To fulfill its mission, DRBA operates the Delaware Memorial Bridge, the Cape May-Lewes Ferry, the Three Forts Ferry Crossing, the Salem County Business Center and five regional airports—New Castle, Civil Air Terminal at Dover AFB, and Delaware Airpark, all in Delaware, and Millville and Cape May, both in New Jersey.

The Delaware River and Bay Authority’s Compact was amended in 1990 to permit the bi-state agency to use excess resources to engage in economic development projects in the four southern counties of New Jersey and the three counties of Delaware. The economic development mission of the DRBA is to bring new business to the area, providing additional jobs for area residents and an increased economic base to the community.

New Jersey Commission on Science and Technology

njcstlogoEstablished in 1985, the New Jersey Commission on Science and Technology is responsible for the development and oversight of policies and programs promoting science and technology research and entrepreneurship in New Jersey.

Rowan Foundation

Foundation_LogoThe Rowan University Foundation is governed by an all-volunteer Board of Directors, whose membership includes professional, civic, corporate and philanthropic leaders dedicated to the University’s success.

The Board’s primary mission is to secure and support the University through stewardship and advancement. Board members also serve to identify fundraising opportunities, provide endowment growth strategies and advise the University on new fundraising challenges.

Samuel H. Jones

sjonesSouth Jersey businessman, civic leader and philanthropist Samuel H. Jones has donated $1 million to the Rowan University Foundation to be earmarked for the construction of the first building of the South Jersey Technology Park at Rowan University.

Mr. Jones, a former Woodstown resident who now lives in Mantua Township, has a long relationship with the University and said the donation will support its work in attracting entrepreneurs to South Jersey and educating tomorrow’s technology work force.

“The Technology Park is important for technology and growth in our region,” said Jones. “It will be a place for people with an entrepreneurial spirit to make things happen.”